I am typing this with clumsy, shaking fingers.

Today is the second day of the PSLE for CY. If yesterday’s English was CY’s Achilles’ Heel, today’s Mathematics paper should be CY’s Herculean gift (ok, I cannot find an antonym for ‘Achilles Heels’). The problem was perhaps, he knows he is quite good at Mathematics.

CY did not sleep well last night, despite going to bed early. He went to bed at around 8, and I think he slept past 11pm. He told me today he sang hymns until he fell asleep. This morning, things did not start off right. He wore a pair of jeans that was too tight (remember we are homeschoolers, and have no uniform to fall back on), and being a boy, he forgot about it until it was too late.

CY usually scores quite well in Paper 1. Something quite unthinkable occurred; he actually forgot to fill in his OAS (Optical Answer Sheet)! Yes, those nightmare PSLE stories? Those urban legend? They really came true today. He realised it too late, and only managed to shade 4 questions into the OAS before time was up. He was completely distraught by the time it came to his Paper 2, he could no longer concentrate. Then one question got him stuck. He knew how to do the question, but at that point, the unfilled OAS, the pants that was too tight, and everything else was too much; he broke down. So for 15 minutes, he could hardly manage to do anything. He told me the only thing he could do was to get angry at God, then prayed very hard, and worshipped at the same time. All the while through this time, he was tearing (or crying?). According to him, every single question was familiar, and he knew he did those questions before. Only at that point, he was too upset to think clearly. I don’t how a person can worship, cry, and do Math at the same time, but he said that was what he was doing. After 15 minutes of hardly progressing, he kicked over his bottle, took a swig out of it, and suddenly came around. He told me after that, everything seemed to happen in a time warp, and he actually finished the paper in 30 minutes. Question after question, he suddenly understood and saw the light.

Now mind you, something was happening over at my camp the same time. While I was driving back to SEAB, I suddenly felt an urge to pray for CY. I looked at the clock and it showed 11:15pm (my car clock could be 5 minutes faster). I asked the Holy Spirit, “Eh, isn’t it a little too late to pray?” I got on anyway. The prayer prompt that came strongly was for CY to open his eyes of understanding, to let go of his stubbornness, and ‘see’ the questions.

We compared notes later and realised the timing was uncannily close. My son encountered God today. After he told me, I did something I never did in front of my kids, I teared in front of him. I know the results could still be disappointing, but we have another ‘note for eternity’ from God today. I know I am going to be so proud of this victory for all eternity!

Oh, as for the unfilled OAS? The invigilator from PSLE Board took a note, and said they will access his question booklet for the answers, since he filled that in. CY was still reeling from shock when he told me he did not fill in his OAS, and he wanted to leave. Something held me back and I went to the invigilator (I pray God will bless her heart and her life, she has such sweet disposition), who assured me they will access his question booklet.

So all praises to God.

But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me did not prove vain; but i laboured even more than all of them, yet not I, but the grace of God with me. –  1 Corinthians 15: 10